Twitter Phishing

Dear readers,

I apologize for the lack of quality and formatting done in this post. I am writing this from my iPhone on the go and I realised I cannot delay telling you all any further.

Seems like a number of people had fallen for this phishing method (including my friends sadly! Don’t let your friends get phished or hacked too! Spread the word!)

The phishing URL is different from usual / the common older style ones as it uses a shortened link, with a name very similar to tinyurl.com (tsk!) the original shortened link is: tnijurl.com/dc0393f329cd/

Here’s the example message to trick you, it reads: “Someone said this real bad thing about you in a blog…”

20110724-092856.jpg

As you can see, there’s no way to tell what that URL actually is at one glance. It will redirect you to:
http://berichtenversturen.com/twitter-login/” with the following page:

20110724-093324.jpg

Although the page might look exactly like a twitter login page, it’s not. Look at the URL. Don’t get fooled. Do NOT log in! Do NOT!

Careful when clicking shortened links that requires you to log in anywhere. Always check the URL on your browser when you are logging in somewhere! Your credentials might be compromised! If you were phished/fooled and had logged in, I recommend changing your password immediately.

Also useful: http://www.justprofessionals.net/2011/07/new-twitter-phishing-scam-preys-on-curiosity-about-criticism/

3 comments

  1. Do you mind if I quote a few of your articles as long as I provide credit and sources back to your site? My blog site is in the very same niche as yours and my visitors would truly benefit from some of the information you present here. Please let me know if this alright with you. Appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

